Clark and Hynes Set Summerside Cycling Records
     July 6, 2006 — Ken Trenholm

It was a day of two new course records and eight personal bests for the Summerside Cycling Club at their latest Indian River 12.1 km Time Trial on July 5.

All riders that cycled the course in the past improved their times and 4 new riders to the course set impressive benchmarks.

Ardelle Hynes of North Rustico set a new course record for the Females at a time of 20:26, averaging 35.59 kilometers-per-hour. This was Hynes' first attempt on the course.

The second female rider, Nancy Woodington (Kensington), earned improvement points as she improved her personal best by one minute and 19 seconds, which is Woodington's second consecutive improvement on this challenging course.

On the Men's side, Dave Clark of Summerside took charge on the road and cut 1 minute and 54 seconds off his previous personal best, crediting him not only with the fastest time of the day, but a new Male course record of 19 minutes and 39 seconds, anchored by a 37 kilometer-per-hour pace.

Other riders who improved on the day were: Paul Wright (Bedeque) by 1 minute 30 seconds; Jeff Hemphill (Summerside) by 1 minute 2 seconds; Ken Trenholm (Summerside) by 1 minute 2 seconds; Ben Kennedy (Kensington) by 54 seconds; Wes Jackshaw (Summerside) by 50 seconds; and Leo Flood (Kinkora) by 39 seconds.

The other three first-time course riders who set impressive times were: Harvey Chandler (Charlottetown), Kenny Sampson (North Rustico), and Jeff Proctor (New Hampshire) who will have an opportunity to come out in two weeks and raise the bar even higher.

The overall training ride results are as follows:

1. Ardelle Hynes (North Rustico) 0:20:26 (35.59 km/h)
2. Nancy Woodington (Kensington) 0:24:26 (29.73 km/h) improved PB by 1:19

1. Dave Clark (Summerside) 0:19:39 (37.00 km/h) improved PB by 1:54
2. Wes Jackshaw (Summerside) 0:19:43 (36.89 km/h) improved PB by 0:50
3. Ken Trenholm (Summerside) 0:19:53 (36.56 km/h) improved PB by 1:02
4. Paul Wright (Bedeque) 0:20:08 (36.12 km/h) improved PB by 1:30
5. Kenny Sampson (North Rustico) 0:20:30 (35.48 km/h)
6. Harvey Chandler (Charlottetown) 0:21:06 (34.44 km/h)
7. Jeff Proctor (New Hampshire) 0:21:20 (34.08 km/h)
8. Leo Flood (Kinkora) 0:22:10 (32.79 km/h) improved PB by 0:39
8. Jeff Hemphill (Summerside) 0:22:10 (32.79 km/h) improved PB by 1:02
10. Ben Kennedy (Kensington) 0:23:19 (31.19 km/h) improved PB by 0:54

The following points were awarded during this ride: Clark 67 (50-1st; 15-PB; 2-start), Woodington 62 (45-2nd; 15-PB; 2-start), Jackshaw 62 (45-2nd; 15-PB; 2-start), Trenholm 57 (40-3rd; 15-PB; 2-start), Hynes 52 (50-1st; 2-start), Wright 52 (35-4th; 15-PB; 2-start), Sampson 32 (30-5ft; 2-start), Flood 32 (15-8th; 15-PB; 2-start); Hemphill 32 (15-8th; 15-PB; 2-start), Kennedy 28 (11-10th; 15-PB; 2-start), Chandler 27 (25-6th; 2-start), and Proctor 22 (20-7th; 2-start).

Overall Training Point Leaders
Nancy Woodington (Kensington) 233 pts
Ardelle Hynes (North Rustico) 104 pts

Overall Training Point Leaders
Wes Jackshaw (Summerside) 668 pts
Ken Trenholm (Summerside) 658 pts
Dave Clark (Summerside) 414 pts
Ben Kennedy (Kensington) 362 pts
Leo Flood (Kinkora) 352 pts
Rob Cook (Travellers Rest) 302 pts
Chris Silvaggio (Summerside) 297 pts
Jeff Hemphill (Summerside) 217 pts
Paul Wright (Bedeque) 203 pts
Mark Bowlan (Stratford) 171 pts
Jason Linger (Charlottetown) 151 pts
Chris Gallant (Summerside) 119 pts
Ernie Schleichkorn (Summerside) 106 pts
Kenny Sampson (North Rustico) 101 pts
Jeff Proctor (New Hampshire) 96 pts
Jules Aucoin (Summerside) 94 pts
Scott Clark (Summerside) 67 pts
Harvey Chandler (Charlottetown) 54 pts
Paul Dalton (St. Louis, PE) 32 pts

The 12.1 km training ride is a part of a series of training rides organized by the Club to improve rider's strength, endurance, and conditioning in order to participate in the July 15 - 16 Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre's PEI Bike Fest and the August 5 one day across PEI Biking for Breakfast event.

The next training ride is on Saturday July 8, the King of the Kinkora Mountains Training Ride, meeting at Kinkora Memorial Park at 800 a.m.

Ken Trenholm
Indian River, PE

Some of the 12 Summerside Cycling Club members who set course records and improved their personal bests, from left to right, front row: Ardelle Hynes and Nancy Woodington; back row: Paul Wright, Leo Flood, Jeff Proctor, Kenny Sampson, Wes Jackshaw, Dave Clark, Harvey Chandler, Ben Kennedy, and Jeff Hemphill

« Back