Biking for Breakfast Raises Over $10,000 for children
     August 7, 2007 — Ken Trenholm

Thunderstorms and heavy wind riped trees out of the ground close to the starting location of the event the night before. Lightning ran through the skies a half hour before registration.

But there was little the environment could do to damper the efforts of the 75 riders who participated in the third annual Biking for Breakfast Challenge on August 4, 2007.

Over $10,000 was raised for PEI Breakfast Programs through the pledges raised by the 75 bicyclists.

The event also hit two additional milestones. Kyle Kneabone, 16, of Cornwall became the youngest rider to complete the tip to tip event in a time of 9 hours and 31 minutes.

One hour and twenty minutes later, a new record would be set. Don Harris, 67, of Milltown Cross became the oldest male rider to complete the tip to tip challenge.

The fastest male rider was Mike Christie who completed the course in 8 hours and 28 minutes, two minutes faster than the 2005 record but well off the 2006 record set by Corey Jay and James Van Toever when they covered tip to tip in a little less than 8 hours riding time.

For the third consecutive year, the average age of the riders was 40 plus. This year, the average age was 43.4 years of age.

The combination of strong NW wind made four out of the five legs feel like the riders were fighting the wind all the way. Combined with periods of rain, nineteen riders who attempted to make the journey tip to tip had to conceed to partial course victories on this day.

The 41 riders who completed the tip-to-tip challenge also set a new record for the most bicyclists to complete the tip to tip ride in one day. The previous record was 36 cyclists set last year.

However, the most important record broken was the amount of money raised for breakfast programs and that 11,764 more breakfasts will be provided to Island children as the result of this fund-raiser epic trek.

The top pledge earner was Mark Lord (Fredericton, NB) with $1,725 followed by Ryan Bradley (Stratford) with $650 and Dan Steele (Cornwall) with $600.

The following 41 riders completed the tip-to-tip course: Michael Armitage (Fredericton, NB), Mark Bowlan (Stratford), Ryan Bradley (Stratford), Paul Deighan (Stratford), Leo Flood (Kinkora), Marian Grant (Stratford), Ardelle Hynes (North Rustico), Dale MacLeod (Stratford), Bruce MacPherson (Charlottetown), Tom Plunkett (Calgary, AB), Jeff Proctor (Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA), Ted Reynolds (Halifax, NS), Dave Ross (Windsor Junction, NS), Ernie Schliechkorn (Summerside), James Young (Toronto, ON), Harvey Chandler (Charlottetown), Don Harris (Milltown Cross), Dave Clark (Summerside), Greg Dickie (St. John's, NL), Eric Ryan (Montague), Erik Charron (St. John's, NL), Robert Jay (Stratford), Keith Ebbett (Yarmouth, NS), Steve Elliott (Dartmouth, NS), Mike Christie (Dromore), Chris McCarthy (Summerside), Dan McCarthy (Summerside), Shawn McCarthy (Cornwall), Boyd Rose (Souris), Darrell Gauthier (Kingston, ON), Mike Webb (Fredericton, NB), Mark Lord (Nasonworth, NB), John McCarthy (Summerside), Paul McKenna (Charlottetown), Pat MacDonnell (Pictou County), Marc LeJeune (Fredericton, NB), Kyle Kneabone (Cornwall), Robert Carreau (Toronto, ON), Mark Creamer (Charlottetown), Bob Williams (Truro, NS), and Ken Trenholm (Summerside).

The following 34 riders completed a partial course: David Beaton (Charlottetown), Dan Steele (Cornwall), Ira Birt (Charlottetown), Richard Birt (Charlottetown), Pat Ellis (Charlottetown), Jason Linger (Charlottetown), Ben Kennedy (Kensington), Gerry Ridgeway (Charlottetown), Rus Melanson (Charlottetown), James Campbell (Charlottetown), Ralph Leonard (Simsbury, CT), Teresa McInnis (Summerside), Bill McInnis (Summerside), Roberta Larsen (Kelly's Cross), Alan Davidson (Charlottetown), Cynthia Dunsford (Stratford), Alfred Caissie (Egmont Bay), Jim McInnis (Kanata, ON), Lynn McCabe (Stratford), Ron Skinner (Cornwall), Logan Whiteway (Charlottetown), Kent Wood (Stratford), Bonnie Smith (Summerside), Pam Power-McKenna (Charlottetown), Tim Nicholls (North Rustico), Duane Livingstone, Nick Gautreau (Stratford), Aaron Whiteway (Charlottetown), Darren Oliver (Alberton), Deborah Frederick (Nyack, NY), Robert Parry (Canoe Cove), and Shawn Frederick (Nyack, NY).

"The true winners in this ride across P.E.I." concludes Ken Trenholm, chair of the event "are the children, our neighbours, and our communities."

Visit for updated information, photos, and video

« Back